In the previous post we saw that it is easy to share documents with your team in Sohodox to get their feedback. But what would you do if the document to be shared is a confidential one? You do not want to share it with all other users, but with only one of them. Sohodox has a solution for this too! Read on…
Assign documents if they are confidential
Assigning a document is different from sharing it. When you share a document, you simply add the document to the Public Folders node. This makes it possible for all other users on your Sohodox network to view as well as modify the document. But assigning a document transfers the ownership of that document to the user to whom it has been assigned. Below are the effects of assigning a document:
- You cease to own the document and the assignee becomes the owner
- They can view, modify as well as delete the document
- You can now no longer access the document
- Only the assignee can access the document – no other user can even view it
- You will not be able to unassign the document that you have assigned to a user
- You will have to ask that user to assign the document back to you once they have worked on it as required.
The main benefit of assigning a document is that the security of the document is not compromised in any way. At the same time, as the creator of the document, the document can always be assigned back to you. It’s a great way to share documents securely.
Improve the decision-making process while maintaining document confidentiality!